Easy pea-sy and asparagus with lemon and garlic. VEGAN, GLUTEN FREE & LEFTOVER FRIENDLY

Processed with VSCOcam

Frozen asparagus and peas are something that I always have in my freezer, because they’re some of my favourite veggies, and they can easily make their way into kind of any dish, to make it healthier/bigger/fancier… Lemons are in my house ALL the time, after two trips to South America, I understood that it was everything’s best friend, and elevated most of my dishes in a second.

And lately, looking at my bank account and realising that I was in deep shaït, I decided to learn how to cook with what I HAVE. Stop to the : “I can make this honey, we have everything except for raw almonds, raw sundried tomatoes, raw hemp seed, avocado, and chili powder…”. That type of attitude doesn’t help. Yes we eat well, but if you have to eat baked potatoes for two weeks until pay day, something’s wrong… And to be honest, we never do that, which would be the sensible thing to do, I never “compromise” on food. And spend, and spend, and spend… And now I’m in the shaït.

So, this is not the fanciest of recipies, but it looks like it, is damn tasty, and unbeatably healthy.

You will need :

A bunch of asparagus and some peas (not getting to specific, we’re talking leftovers here!)

Half a lemon

3-4-5 cloves of garlic depending on your taste (I’m a garlic addict and I used 4)

Black pepper

Salt (I used Himalayan salt, if you don’t know of it, it’s a lot tastier and saltier, so, more expensive, but you don’t need as much, which is better for you, and it’s not treated, and whitened with nasty chemicals, which is, yes, better for you. If you can’t afford it, which I don’t, -but you got the way I work right?- untreated sea salt is great and less expensive)

Some olive oil to taste.

You basically want to dump the peas and asparagus in a baking dish, and start the cooking process of your frozen vegetables at 180°C. You have 5 min to prepare everything else : crush or mince the garlic and cut the lemon in two. Easy peasy I told ya. Open your oven, sprinkle over your defrozen veggies with garlic, salt, pepper and the lemon juice. I used two lemon slices to make it look nice, but you don’t have to. Mix everything to make sure that your veggies are well coated. Leave to bake for 15 to  20 minutes. Done.

I decided to use this as a topping for gluten free pasta, because the man of the house needs a big meal, and it was amazing. On top of the pasta dish, I drizzled something like 2 teaspoon of olive oil per plate, and voilà! Super yummy, crazy easy.

Processed with VSCOcamProcessed with VSCOcam

Leave a Reply

